# Change your billing cycle

Switch your Pro subscription between monthly and annual billing, and see how the unused time becomes billing credits.

import { Steps } from '@prosefly/astro-components';
import Callout from '@components/Callout.astro';
import SwitchBillingCycleModal from '@components/app-screens/screens/SwitchBillingCycleModal.astro';

On the Pro plan, you can switch between monthly and annual billing at any time. Choose annual billing to pay less per month, or monthly billing for more flexibility.

## Switch between monthly and annual billing

<Steps>

1. **Open your billing settings.**

   Open the settings with the gear icon in the header, then click "Billing", and stay in the "Subscription" tab.

2. **Choose the new billing cycle.**

   Select "Monthly" or "Annually" at the top of the plans. On the Pro plan, click "Switch to Monthly" or "Switch to Annual".

3. **Check the summary.**

   The "Switch to monthly billing" (or "Switch to annual billing") window shows:

   - "Your current plan" and the "Unused time on current plan", which is credited back to you;
   - "Your new plan" and the "New plan cost";
   - the "Total", your balance before and after payment, and the amount "Due Today".

   <SwitchBillingCycleModal alt="The &quot;Switch to monthly billing&quot; window: the &quot;Summary:&quot; with &quot;Your current plan&quot; Pro (Annual), the &quot;Unused time on current plan&quot; credited back, &quot;Your new plan&quot; Pro (Monthly) and its &quot;New plan cost&quot;, the &quot;Total&quot;, the balance before and after payment and &quot;Due Today&quot;, then the terms checkbox and the &quot;Confirm subscription&quot; button" />

4. **Confirm.**

   Tick "Yes, I understand and agree to the Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy.", then click "Confirm subscription".

</Steps>

Your new subscription starts right away, with a new billing cycle.

## Billing credits

When you switch from annual to monthly billing, the unused time already paid on your annual subscription is stored as **billing credits**. They are used automatically to pay your next monthly invoices.

You see your balance in the "Billing" tab, in the "Billing credits" card. When all your credits are used, the card registered in your workspace is charged. Your invoices are listed in the "Invoices history" tab.

## During your free trial

During a free trial of the Pro plan, click "Switch to Annual" (or "Switch to Monthly") on the Pro plan. In the "Change Billing Period" window, click "Pay Annually" (or "Pay Monthly").

Nothing is charged during the trial. With annual billing, if your number of active members goes above your billing tier after your trial, you are charged a prorated amount for the rest of your annual cycle. See [How Pro billing works](/admin/billing/pro-billing/).
